Tulloch’s, an industrial story
Tulloch’s dominated the Rhodes peninsular for almost 60 years.
The company was established by Robert Tulloch at Pyrmont in 1883 and supplied the structural steelwork for many buildings including the Queen Victoria Building and Sydney Town Hall. In 1915 the company moved to Rhodes and diversified their range of products, manufacturing everything from shovels to railway rolling stock. During the Second World War, Tulloch’s contributed to the war effort through manufacture of components for tanks and the construction of ocean-going lighters for the US and Australian armies.
David Jehan has recently published Tulloch : a history of Tulloch engineers and manufacturers, Pyrmont and Rhodes, 1883-1974. David will be talking about the fascinating story of Tulloch’s at the Kokoda Education Centre (Kokoda Track Memorial Walkway, Rhodes Park) on Saturday, 8 August 2015 at 2pm. Come along and learn about this important part of Australia’s industrial history which changed the landscape of Rhodes.
Bookings for the talk can be made online.