Monthly Archives: July 2015
Every August the Great North Road comes alive as Five Dock celebrates Ferragosto, a wonderful mix of Italian food, culture and fun.
To coincide with this year’s Ferragosto, Five Dock Library has a digital exhibition of 100 images of past events selected from the library’s collection,‘Canada Bay Connections’.
Ferragosto this year will be held on Sunday, 16 August. The exhibition continues until 31 August 2015.
A selection of photographs of Ferragosto can also be viewed on flickr.
Tulloch’s dominated the Rhodes peninsular for almost 60 years.
The company was established by Robert Tulloch at Pyrmont in 1883 and supplied the structural steelwork for many buildings including the Queen Victoria Building and Sydney Town Hall. In 1915 the company moved to Rhodes and diversified their range of products, manufacturing everything from shovels to railway rolling stock. During the Second World War, Tulloch’s contributed to the war effort through manufacture of components for tanks and the construction of ocean-going lighters for the US and Australian armies.
David Jehan has recently published Tulloch : a history of Tulloch engineers and manufacturers, Pyrmont and Rhodes, 1883-1974. David will be talking about the fascinating story of Tulloch’s at the Kokoda Education Centre (Kokoda Track Memorial Walkway, Rhodes Park) on Saturday, 8 August 2015 at 2pm. Come along and learn about this important part of Australia’s industrial history which changed the landscape of Rhodes.
Bookings for the talk can be made online.
Currently Olev Muska (who worked on the North Strathfield Neighbourhood Stories) and Angela Pasqua are working on an exciting multimedia project focussed on Chiswick.
‘Chiswick Changes and Connections’ seeks to add vibrancy, create connections and establish a strong sense of belonging for the community living on the Chiswick Peninsula.
Olev and Angela are gathering local oral histories and impressions of living in Chiswick from both old and new residents. They will then prepare a set of short films to upload onto City of Canada Bay’s website. A selection of these will be projected at an outdoor event in October.
Come along to the community consultation this Saturday, 11 July, 10am to 2pm, outside Blackwall Café, Blackwall Point Road shops, and share your story of Chiswick with Olev and Angela. If you can’t make the consultation or you know of someone who may be interested, send us an email at email@example.com.
The photograph, above, was taken around 1920 from the Nestlé factory chimney at Abbotsford and shows Chiswick and the Lysaght factory.
The Australian War Memorial’s digital exhibition ‘A camera on Gallipoli’, featuring First World War photographs taken by Sir Charles Ryan, can now be viewed at Concord Library.
In 1914, at the age of 61, Sir Charles Ryan was appointed consulting surgeon to the AIF, embarking from Melbourne in October to the Middle East, then on to Gallipoli.
‘A camera on Gallipoli’ showcases a series of 39 candid photographs. The Director of the Australian War Memorial, Dr Brendan Nelson, says ‘Charles Ryan’s photographs capture the reality behind the 1915 Gallipoli campaign, depicting a unique and often harsh view of our soldiers’ experiences’.
Charles Ryan led a remarkable life. He served as a doctor with the Turkish army in 1877–78, treated Ned Kelly at Glenrowan, was a leading Melbourne surgeon and gave long service as a senior military officer.
The digital exhibition is a centenary initiative supported by the Concord RSL to commemorate the centenary of the First World War. It can be viewed at Concord Library until Sunday, 3 August 2015.
The City of Canada Bay Heritage Society will be hosting an open day at Rivendell this month to allow people the chance to visit this magnificent historical building.
For over 120 years the building has provided support to those in need of medical care, first as the Thomas Walker Convalescent Hospital, named in honour of Thomas Walker who bequeathed funds to establish it, and since 1979 as a special facility which focuses on the psychological health of young people and their families.
The photograph shows some of the workmen employed in constructing the Thomas Walker Convalescent Hospital and their families before the building opened in 1893. Skilled Italian masons were brought to Australia specifically to work on the building.
The open day will be held on Sunday, 26 July 2015 from 9.30am to 2pm, for details contact the City of Canada Bay Heritage Society.