Hessian haute couture
In March 1943 the 3rd Women’s Hospital was established in the former Thomas Walker Convalescent Hospital to provide for the needs of servicewomen. The nearby 113 Australian General Hospital dealt with surgical cases while the Women’s Hospital provided for patients recovering from illnesses contracted while on active service, such as malaria.
Later in the same year a Red Cross recreation centre was opened for patients. It provided a space for women to recuperate and included a craft room where they could engage in handicrafts to pass the time. The City of Canada Bay Museum has a small but fascinating collection of some of the handicrafts produced by the servicewomen. One of the most striking items is an embroidered dress and coat made of hessian.
The 3rd Women’s Hospital closed in May 1946.
Posted on February 4, 2015, in Concord, Concord West and tagged 3rd Women's Hospital, Canada bay Connections, City of Canada Bay, City of Canada Bay Museum, Concord, Concord West, Embroidery, hospitals, Red Cross, Second World War, World War II. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.